Posted by: mummystuff | March 22, 2012

It Just Can’t Be True. Can It?

I’m sitting looking through the latest Matalan brochure that came in the post this morning whilst I was out.

I’m happily browsing the ladieswear, menswear and kids wear, when to my horror, there’s a page dedicated to school uniforms.

Why the horror I hear you ask. It just clothing.

Yes, but it’s clothing that MY little boy will be wearing come September. That’s only 5 and a half months away.

The sadness in my heart and the dread that this fills me with is just too much. Didn’t I just stop changing nappies and breastfeeding him? Was that really more than a year or two ago? Where has all of that precious time gone?

It’s not as though I haven’t treasured my time with him. Even more so since he started pre-school a whole 18 months ago, but I’m not yet ready for this massive step.

Swallow hard Debbie. It’s going to happen, whether you like it or not.

Needless to say, I didn’t make it to the homeware section.

20120322-170212.jpg

Responses

  1. I feel like that about Jensons first birthday coming up on friday like where has the time gone? It also saddens me that Burton is almost three – where does the time go??
    Yikes you have such a huuuge milestone to face i dont envy you one bit , but i wish you luck (hugs) xx

    • I’m dreading it. It only feels like yesterday that he was taking his first steps and still sucking on a dummy. I’m not sure I will cope well with it. I have issued with him being left with other people. It took a long time to get used to him being at pre-school but school is a whole different matter. It’s for 6 hours a day. Think I’ll just camp at the school gates.

      As for school trips. Oh, the horror.

      • School trips are easy, be the parent who volunteers to go on them! Teachers will love you (they can never get enough help), Luke will love you.

  2. I can’t bear the thought of The Boy starting nursery or school. I think they start way too young, I always have thought that professionally regardless of being a parent. Don’t know if I’ve mentioned but I’m keeping The Boy back from nursery until the January because I don’t feel he’s ready for it yet.


Let me know your thoughts! They're always welcome.

Categories

