Posted by: mummystuff | September 7, 2011

STOP! Look and Listen.

What’s your worst nightmare as a parent?

Losing a child, of course.

I feel as though I came close last week and I can’t get the image out of my mind.

I was at the park with Luke and our friends, having a lovely time and everything was as it should be. We’d all been out in the sun for a few hours and decided it was a bit too hot for the kids so we would seek refuge in the shade and opted for a walk around the perimeter of the park which is nicely shaded by overhanging trees. I had a bag full of wet clothing and towels as the kids had been in the paddling pool, so popped back to the car to drop the bag off rather than having to carry it around as it was cutting into my fingers.

I was parked across the road from the park and my friend was parked on the opposite side.

Now, Luke has always been a child that has been quite ‘road aware’ and has feared the roads and insisted on being carried around to the car on occasion.

So I ask myself;

WHY on Friday did he decide to run from my side, straight across the road and into the path of an oncoming vehicle?

The answer is simple…

He saw his friends on the other side of the road and was excited and decided to run to them.

I can’t even begin to describe the horror of witnessing this. One minute he was standing beside me, after being told repeatedly to stand on the pavement by the car and wait. I went to take his hand and the next thing I knew, he was dashing out to the side of me. All I could do was SCREAM his name and watch.

Fortunately, and I can’t stress how fortunate I feel, the driver of the car was a lady with children who was obviously watching the road closely and not speeding and she saw him and stopped immediately. The car was literally a foot away from him and as I’d screamed his name, it was like something you’d see on TV where he turned to face the car and I just leaped towards him, scooped him up and almost crushed him by holding him so tightly.

The lady driver looked worried and apologised but I told her that I was the one who was sorry and made my way off of the road back to safety.

My friend had only seen what was happening once I’d screamed his name but once we’d reached the other side of the road where she was, I ended up crouched down, Luke in my arms and bawling my eyes out. He was upset because I had yelled so loudly as he ran. He just didn’t understand what could have happened to him. He just wanted to see his friends again.

When I went to bed on Friday night, I cried. I keep replying the image of what happened in my mind. I spoke to Matt about it on Saturday morning, and again, I was welling up.

I don’t think that you can appreciate it until it happens to you.

He was lucky. I was lucky. WE were lucky. Had it not been the lady driver and it had been one of the usual ‘boy racers’ that frequent those roads… well, let’s just not go there.

So now both Luke and I are nervous wrecks near roads. I cling on to him for dear life and he pretty much does the same.

Is that a bad thing? I don’t think so. We’re teaching him the Green Cross Code and I’m going to introduce him to the online site ‘Children’s Traffic Club’ so he can understand more about road safety.

I’ve gone on to tell him about a little boy that I once knew, when I was a child, who didn’t pay attention whilst crossing the road, and who unfortunately lost his life. You may think that telling a three year old about someone who has died is a bit over the top, but by telling him the basics, and not going into gory detail, it’s got him thinking and made him more aware.

Last week, for a split second, I thought I might lose my little boy, or at least see him very badly hurt. If I have my way, it’ll never happen again. Ever.


Responses

  1. Oh my darling! My heart is beating so fast! I bet urs has not slowed down yet! How scary! I did not know about the children’s traffic club. I’m gonna check it out! Thanks for a fab post!

  2. It must have been absolutely awful Hun. I think it’s great that you are teaching L all about road safety. More people also need to realise that the speed limit is there for a reason – it only takes a split second for it to make the difference between a terrible accident & a near-miss. It wasn’t your fault though Hun, you are arming him with the best knowledge possible. I can’t begin to tell you how relieved I am that it was a near-miss and not any worse. Sending big hugs to you all xxx

  3. Oh my goodness honey that’s awful and I’m SO RELIEVED the woman stopped in time.
    Try not to torture yourself with these images missis and I know it was close but it DIDN’T happen.
    Thank you for writing this thought because now I will be extra aware too.
    You are a great writer x

  4. I’m cold after reading this. Shivers down my spine. Not least because of what happened, but what could have happened.

    I have a nephew who is now 19, but when he was only 2 years old my family were on our way to celebrate my parents pearl wedding anniversary.

    He was a wriggler – and as his Mum got out of the car to cross the road to my Sister on the other side of the road, he wriggled out of his car seat.

    She was oblivious to his doing this and had crossed content in the knowledge that he was safely strapped in.

    Imagine her horror as she turned to see a car, travelling at no more than 30 mile per hour as he shouted my sister’s name and the car struck him.

    We didn’t celebrate my parents pearl wedding anniversary that day – we celebrated the fact that he survived this collision – 40 stitches in his face from his nose over the back of his skull, but he escaped blindness and any brain injury and was alive.

    Its a hard fact – but it’s not your own awareness of safety that counts – it’s theirs …..

    And so your title “The boy who didn’t stop, look and listen” is very apt!

    It’s a horrible feeling. I do know how that feels and also the need to hold them that much longer when it happens. I imagine teaching him road safety is somewhat higher on your list and hope that you never have to feel this way again.

    Thanks for sharing – this is a real eyeopener for other parents and stories like yours make it that much more real of a situation to avoid.

  5. Woah, flipping heck Deb. I can’t even begin to imagine how horrendous that must have been! Just let out a little son at the thought. Huge hug


Let me know your thoughts! They're always welcome.

Categories